JK Rowling is coming out with a new book? My Honest Thoughts on the Matter.

So, I keep hearing rumors about this and just today found out, through The Washington Post, that yes, Rowling is at it again. However, it doesn’t seem likely that we’re ever to see the Potterific world we’ve all grown up in (which is probably a good thing–always the fear of the rise of another Lucas) but most fans, and myself, have been positive about this.

“Although I’ve enjoyed writing it every bit as much, my next book will  be very different to the Harry Potter series, which has been published  so brilliantly by Bloomsbury and my other publishers around the world,”  Rowling said in a statement.  “The freedom to explore new territory is a gift that Harry’s success  has brought me, and with that new territory it seemed a logical  progression to have a new publisher. I am delighted to have a second  publishing home in Little, Brown, and a publishing team that will be a  great partner in this new phase of my writing life.”

Little, Brown….that is where my dreams for more brilliant Rowling came crashing down. Little Brown is responsible for the tween girl maniacs and sparkly vampire myths that surround….Twilight……. I’ll hold out all the hope I can but anything related to Twilight can’t be trusted….those are my honest thoughts on the matter.

Oh yes, no real details have been released on the new book as Rowling’s PR has that under strict lock’n Key, however, her neighbour, author Ian Rankin, tweeted this Thursday,

“Wouldn’t it  be funny if J.K. Rowling’s first novel for adults turned out to be a  crime story set in Edinburgh?” Rankin wrote. “My word yes.”

A mystery novel wouldn’t be the first assumption someone has made about what Rowling might do next. Whatever the case, she does intend to stay away from childrens literature and expand on a more adult audience.

Also, my fan senses tingle at the fact they’re making all 7 of the Harry Potter books into illustrated epics.

2 Comments

Filed under My Honest Opinions

2 responses to “JK Rowling is coming out with a new book? My Honest Thoughts on the Matter.

  1. I have a feeling she’s not going to write fantasy.. sighs* so sad.

Leave a Reply

